Mailbox full all the time? You may be storing mail on the mail server!

Look for the applicable solution to this problem by following the steps outlined below for your specific email software.

First some basics to understand the message better:

  • Each client has a specific hosting plan.
  • This hosting plan allows for a certain amount of hosting space.
  • This space is shared by the website and email users for a specific domain. 
  • Storing too much mail on your mail server will lead to quota over usage.  Warnings are sent to prevent this from happening.

Why is my mailbox continuously exceeding its quota?

  1. If you only use smart devices (Smart phones, IPads, Tablets etc.) to check your email.  These devices retrieve copies of email to your device.  The email is stored on the Email Server.  Too many messages stored on your smart device will overuse your mailbox quota.                                                                                                                                                      How Do I Clean My Mailbox Now                                                                                                                                
  2. Keeping a copy of your incoming mail on the server when using a PC or Mac will eventually cause your mailbox size to exceed the quota. This is normally a setting in your email program that is active by default. Help for this problem can be found below:

Outlook Express / 2000

  1. Go to the Tools menu and choose Accounts,
  2. double-click on your email account's name,
  3. go to the Advanced tab,
  4. Untick the box at the bottom that says "Leave a copy of messages on the server", or check the box that says "remove from server after ... days" and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 3, and also check the last box "remove from server when deleted".
  5. Click OK,
  6. Click Close

 

 

 

Outlook XP, 2002 / 3

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Email Accounts.
  3. Select View or Change an existing email address, or click the Email tab.
  4. Select the email account.
  5. Click Change.
  6. Click More Settings.
  7. Click the Advanced tab.
  8. Untick the "Leave a copy of the message on the server" checkbox and then click Next.
  9. Click Finish.

 

Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

 

 

Outlook 2007

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Click Change.
  4. Click More Settings.
  5. Click the Advanced tab.
  6. Untick the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.
  7. Click OK.
  8. Click Next.
  9. Click Finish.

 

Note: When this check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

 

 

Outlook 2010/ 2013

  1. Click File.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Select the appropriate email account
  4. Click Change.
  5. Click More Settings.
  6. Click the Advanced tab.
  7. Untick the "Leave a copy of the message on the server" checkbox.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Next.
  10. Click Finish.
  11. Click Close.

 

Note: When this check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

 

 

Windows Live Mail

  1. Right-click the email account in the left pane and click Properties.
  2. Click the Advanced tab.
  3. Untick the check box beside "Leave a copy of messages on server".
  4. Click OK.

 

 

 

IncrediMail

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. Select the email account, and then click Properties.
  4. Click the Advanced tab.
  5. Untick the  "Leave a copy of messages on server" check box.



Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

 

 

 

Mozilla Thunderbird

  1. Click on the Tools menu, choose Account Settings,
  2. Go to the Server Settings category on the left side, under your email account,
  3. Untick the box that says "Leave messages on server", or check the box that says "for at most ... days " and specify a short enough amount of days, for example 3, and check the other box ("until I delete or move them from inbox")

  4. Click OK to confirm

 

 

 

Apple mail for Mac OS X

  1. Click on the Mail menu and choose Preferences,
  2. Click on the Accounts icon, and select your email account on the left side,
  3. Go to the tab called Advanced, and CHECK THE CHECKBOX CALLED Remove copy from server after retrieving a message:
    • if that checkbox is Unticked, then all your messages will always stay on the server (and you will fill up your quota quickly)

    • if that checkbox is checked, then the messages will only stay on the server as long as specified in the drop-down box underneath (recommended: less than 5 days)

    • if that checkbox is checked and the drop-down box is set to Right Away, then your account will behave as a regular POP3 account (the messages will be downloaded to your computer and then removed from the server right away - highly recommended)

    • Note: This is only for POP not IMAP

  • Click OK to confirm

 

 

Windows mail (Vista)

  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. In the Email subsection, click the email account.
  4. Click Properties.
  5. Click the Advanced tab.
  6. Untick the "Leave a copy of the message on the server" check box.

 

 

 

Let's meet and see how IT DEsign CAN GIVE YOU A COMPETITIVE EDGE!

You can be visible to hundreds of clients actively searching for you online. Join us for a cup of coffee and we will show you how.

Consultations are strictly by appointment!

 

Work with Us

Get in touch

 (041) 360-5959 / 7772
 (086) 5166-219
  info@itdesign.co.za

it design paygate
it design visa
it design master card
it design verified by visa
it design master card secure code

OK / Close